CCS64 Forum
http://www.ccs64.com/forum/

Real commodore
http://www.ccs64.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=415
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Naqser [ Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Real commodore

don't know where this belongs but i put it here

i took "my" commodore 64 form the shelf and rememberd that all the cartages were not usable anymore, so i went in here and found the emulator and a schematic on how to connect my computer with my commodore, so i downloaded the emulator and put togheter the cable, downloaded the program that can transfer/recieve data to/from the commodore, now the only problem is that i'm not a data genious and the star commander program crashes after even one command, even the options, now i would like some help to get star commander running and to get a connection between the pc and commodore so i can put some games on it and start playing, me, my brothers and my parents would be happy if i did it, but i only need help

Author:  K.C. [ Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:08 am ]
Post subject: 

That are a lot of questions!
In the first place, you don't need to transfer all programs yourself that you like to run. Almost all games can be downloaded from the Gamebase64 website.
If you want to use Star Commander, you have to run it from a PC booted with DOS. Starting Star Commander from a DOS box in Windows will result in lots of problems.
When you want to transfer files from Windows XP, cbm4win is a much better choice. You can download a graphical user interface for this command-line based tool from here.
Note that you need an XM1541 or an XA1541 cable to use with cbm4win. An XE1541 cable can be transformed to an XM1541 cable by using this instructions.

Author:  Naqser [ Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:54 pm ]
Post subject: 

thx

i was reading te manual and it came to me that wouldn't it be easier to program something that simulates the disks (vic 1541) disk and from the computer put stuff in that simulator and be able to use it like a disk on the commodore, like, it won't be transfered to the commodore like on a real disk, but can be accesed by it, much easier

Author:  zaphod [ Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:12 pm ]
Post subject: 

pc floppies CANNOT read cbm 5.25 disks. at ALL.

They do not understand CGR at all.

so yo umust hook up an actual drive and run a PC side program to grab the data.

or jsut downlaod versions that others have already transfered.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 2 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/