CCS64 Forum

A forum to discuss issues about CCS64!
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 7:01 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Real commodore
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:01 am
Posts: 3
don't know where this belongs but i put it here

i took "my" commodore 64 form the shelf and rememberd that all the cartages were not usable anymore, so i went in here and found the emulator and a schematic on how to connect my computer with my commodore, so i downloaded the emulator and put togheter the cable, downloaded the program that can transfer/recieve data to/from the commodore, now the only problem is that i'm not a data genious and the star commander program crashes after even one command, even the options, now i would like some help to get star commander running and to get a connection between the pc and commodore so i can put some games on it and start playing, me, my brothers and my parents would be happy if i did it, but i only need help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 12:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:12 pm
Posts: 115
Location: The Netherlands
That are a lot of questions!
In the first place, you don't need to transfer all programs yourself that you like to run. Almost all games can be downloaded from the Gamebase64 website.
If you want to use Star Commander, you have to run it from a PC booted with DOS. Starting Star Commander from a DOS box in Windows will result in lots of problems.
When you want to transfer files from Windows XP, cbm4win is a much better choice. You can download a graphical user interface for this command-line based tool from here.
Note that you need an XM1541 or an XA1541 cable to use with cbm4win. An XE1541 cable can be transformed to an XM1541 cable by using this instructions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 5:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:01 am
Posts: 3
thx

i was reading te manual and it came to me that wouldn't it be easier to program something that simulates the disks (vic 1541) disk and from the computer put stuff in that simulator and be able to use it like a disk on the commodore, like, it won't be transfered to the commodore like on a real disk, but can be accesed by it, much easier


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 11:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:19 pm
Posts: 78
pc floppies CANNOT read cbm 5.25 disks. at ALL.

They do not understand CGR at all.

so yo umust hook up an actual drive and run a PC side program to grab the data.

or jsut downlaod versions that others have already transfered.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group