CCS64 Forum

A forum to discuss issues about CCS64!
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:22 pm

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Lightgun emulation?
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 3:40 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Belfast, NI
Hi everyone, sorry if this has been asked before but I couldn't find this on the forum or FAQs.

Can CCS64 emulate the use of a lightgun using one of the available input methods (mouse, joystick or keys)? I recently got hold of the Blaze Out compilation tape image, which was originally bundled in a C64C pack with the Defender light gun. Despite my best efforts I've been unable to play the compilation, or even get past the title screen, as it requires a pull of the lightgun trigger. None of the existing options seem to cover this.

Can someone advise me if this is even possible?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 9:20 am 
Offline
Site Co-Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:46 pm
Posts: 786
Location: East Yorkshire, England
CCS64 emulates keyboard (using key-set configurations), joystick (again, using key-set configurations, or using a physical joystick connected with appropriate driver), and some elements of mouse emulation. As far as I know, no C64 emulator emulates a light-gun device. Please refer to the HTML instruction, which come as part of the CCS64 Package, and also to:

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/stuart.too ... b_help.htm

_________________
Kind regards,

Stuart Toomer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 4:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:19 pm
Posts: 78
The light gu device will need to be emulated. this is traditionally done with a mouse.

That said, if there is a light PEN emulation, try using it.

Both work on the same principle. Here is how it works for guns

When the trigger is pulled, a bit is set on the port. This tells the game to white the screen. when the photosensor detects the light from the raster beam, it trips a second bit on the controller port, and the program detects this. It then knows, by it's internal timing loops, where the raster beam is, and corrects for the length of time it takes to read the position.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group