CCS64 Forum

A forum to discuss issues about CCS64!
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:57 pm

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:12 pm
Posts: 115
Location: The Netherlands
This is the only thing I am still missing in any C64 emulator. Why on earth is it possible that a C64 emulator can emulate a VIC, SID, datasette, 1541, 1571, 1581, a 1531 mouse and joysticks and is it impossible to emulate an MPS80x or ESC/P printer? :shock:
Is a tool available somewhere that can read a raw print file generated by CCS64 or WinVice, convert it and pass it to a Windows printer?
I don't know much of this stuff, but I think it must be possible, or am I missing something? :?
Anyway, it should be great to run programs like Print Shop or The Newsroom and make REAL printouts with it to a laser/inkjet printer! 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2005 5:49 pm 
Offline
Site Co-Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:46 pm
Posts: 786
Location: East Yorkshire, England
There is a VICE2PS (VICE-to-PostScript) utility, for use with VICE output. I assume that it is not fully possible, due to various character/hardware differences.

_________________
Kind regards,

Stuart Toomer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 3:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:12 pm
Posts: 115
Location: The Netherlands
I have tried Vice2PS, but the only thing you can do with it is print plain text in a Commodore matrixprinter-looking font. :(
What I want to do is make graphical printouts with Print Master of maybe Geos.

I just can't believe that it can't be done in an emulator. When printing from a real Computer to a matrix printer the following happens:
- Printer waits for input via serial/centronics interface.
- When a complete line of data/commands or a Carriage Return character is received, the line is printed and the print head is moved to the home location.

To make this work in an emulator, I think the following has to be done:
- Emulate the ROM of the printer so that printer commands are recognised and processed correctly.
- Instead of moving the print head and pushing the needles on the paper, a bitmap file can be created that sets the pixels on the right place.

Again, I am a real noob, but this doesn't sound extremely difficult to me, or am I missing something? :?
Comments welcome!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group