CCS64 Forum

A forum to discuss issues about CCS64!
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 2:04 pm

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Change emulator Keys
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 9:14 am
Posts: 41
CCS64 uses F9 to access the menu. An understandable choice because a real C64 does not have an F9 key.

I'm building a pc in an original breadbin C64 case using the Keyrah V2 so I can use the original C64 keyboard. The only problem is I can't use CCS64 with it, because a commodore 64 does not have an F9 key. A way to change the default menu key from F9 to something else (preferable a combination of two keys) would be great. Fortunately most of the menu items have a direct shortcut, but the option to remap F9 still would be great.
Vice has a near perfect layout for the Keyrah V2, however I prefer CCS64.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change emulator Keys
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 9:14 am
Posts: 41
I more or less solved the F9 key problem with the Keyrah V2.
I have a Windows PC in a real C64 breadbin, but because the C64 has no F9 key I could not use CCS64 on it.
Also a real C64 does not have a real cursor UP and Cursor left key. Instead it uses Shift-Cursor down for up and Shift-Cursor Right for Left.
Also Alt-F10 (swap joysticks) can't be used because a real C64 lacks an F10 key.

The workaround I use is a nice little program called "Autohotkey" .
You can run in the System tray. You can make scripts that can redirect keys (or combinations) to other keys.
So what I did is Alt-F1 = F9 (the keyrah V2 interprets the commodore key as ALT)
Also Shift-Cursor down = Up and Shift C and Shift-Cursor Right = Left.
and Alt-J = Alt-F10

Excellent workaround, however it would not be necessary if Hakan could make a few little changes to CCS64 to make it Keyrah V2 compatible just like Vice.
Just make it also possible to use Alt-F1 to go to the options menu. and make the navigation also respond to Shif+cursor combinations and Alt-J for joystick swap.
That way I don't need the autohotkey workaround anymore.

I like Vice, but I like CCS64 better. I like the fact that i don't need the mouse to select games or change options. Also in Full screen mode.
Most important however is that CCS64 has perfect sreen sync. A feature that's broken in Vice for ages.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change emulator Keys
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 9:38 pm 
Offline
Site Co-Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:46 pm
Posts: 786
Location: East Yorkshire, England
I did document AutoHotKey in the CCS64 Knowledge Base, for a slightly different version of this request - refer to Article CCS64-KB-H-007:
http://www.ccs64.com/StuartJohnToomer/K ... _H_007.htm

_________________
Kind regards,

Stuart Toomer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change emulator Keys
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 2:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 9:14 am
Posts: 41
Nice to see two different request more or less have the same solution/workaround.

Did you hear anything from Hakan about the bugs I reported a while ago. Last thing you told me you were back in contact with Hakan, but that's more than a month ago now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change emulator Keys
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 6:15 pm 
Offline
Site Co-Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:46 pm
Posts: 786
Location: East Yorkshire, England
I haven't heard anything from him yet; he sometimes goes for months without contacting me. I will try to chase him up again, as it would be nice to have another release before Christmas.

_________________
Kind regards,

Stuart Toomer.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group