CCS64 Forum
http://www.ccs64.com/forum/

Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2
http://www.ccs64.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=35672
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Michael Plate [ Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

v3.9.2 causes issues for me while v3.9.1 works fine on a 64bit Windows 10 PC.

Already several times I noticed CCS64.exe crashing with following error:
"C64 Emulator for Win32/DirectX V9 has stopped working"

The about Windows of v3.9.2 lists following issues for those cases:
DirectInput Init FAILED - AcquireDirectInput Keyboard Init FAILED - AcquireConfig - Screenmode: Window 2x
Sound: Primary Sound Driver

Thanks in advance,
/Michael

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Fri Sep 04, 2015 8:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

Are you running the EXE with Administrator privileges? At what point does the hang occur? Under what conditions? Does the problem occur with the 2005 EXE build?

I know about the text in the Help -> About CCS64 window; but it does not affect the EXE running properly on my Windows 7 machine.

Author:  Michael Plate [ Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

Here's what I do and how I can reproduce the problem:

I unzip the CCS64 distrubtion file to a folder "CCS64 V3.9.2.zip" and start ccs64.exe close it after a few seconds and start it again and again. Usually latest within 5 trials CCS64 will start to respond slow or even crash.
With CCS64 v3.9.1 I can't reproduce this issue.

Since the fault never happens at the first start could it be that CCS64 doesn't properly terminate any used DirectX resources?
Is there any debugging I can activate or a debug build to collect some logs?

/Michael

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

No, there's no de-bugging/logging you can activate yourself, as far as I know. I have passed this information on to Hakan for investigation.

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Tue Sep 08, 2015 8:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

Hakan believes he has fixed this problem and he has made an updated v3.9.2 release today (8 September 2015). Please download the updated version and let me know if it fixes your problem.

This 'fixed' version corrects my issue of having to run the EXE with Administrator privileges, when being run from a short-cut (rather than directly).

Author:  Michael Plate [ Wed Sep 09, 2015 8:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

The new version also froze after the 3rd start :(

Author:  renepela [ Fri Sep 11, 2015 1:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

After reading about this bug I also tried repproducing it.
I used the latest version 3.9.2 dated september 8. So I think this is the "corrected" version. To prevent confusion it might be better to increase the version number I think.
3.9.2.1 or something like that.
Just want to let you know I can reproduce the fault too.
After about 5 starts I get a freeze with a black emulator screen. So no blue C64 screen, but completely black.

I use Windows 10 (64 bit) by the way.

All the rest works just great! Just great Hakan is updating and fixing bugs again.
The Edge of Disgrace bug I reported in version 3.9.1 has been fixed. Thanks Hakan!
As far as I can see only two small bugs remain.
This startup bug and a sound bug I already mentioned in a previous bug post.

Thanks for fixing Hakan. I appreciate your hard work.

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

I have passed this issue back on to Hakan again. He is already aware of the SID 8580 sound issue with ComaLand 2014. As soon as I hear anything, I will post here.

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Tue Sep 15, 2015 10:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

The difficulty with this issue is that Hakan does not have a Windows 10 PC, in order to help him reproduce/test/de-bug this problem. I have suggested to him that he should contact you both directly. I cannot reproduce this problem at all on my Windows 7 PC, so I'm a bit stumped. I wonder if it is a Windows 10 only problem, since only you two guys have reported it (so far), and you are both using the Windows 10 64-bit operating system...

Author:  renepela [ Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

Hakan can contact me offcourse. Anything I can do to help or test on my Windows 10 x64 system.

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Sat Feb 27, 2016 8:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

Hakan has finally managed to build/compile CCS64 V3.9.2 with Visual Studio 2015. The EXE can be downloaded below:

http://www.ccs64.com/CCS64-2015.zip

Can you both please test this EXE and report back? Hakan has tested this on his Windows 10 PCs, both at home and at work, and he cannot get it to crash; not even when running multiple instances. It seems to launch fine on my Windows 7 PC aswell.

Author:  renepela [ Fri Mar 04, 2016 2:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

It seems to work fine now. Thanks!

It starts with a black screen and initializing the blue screen takes a few seconds. Apart from that it works just fine

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Sun Mar 06, 2016 6:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

Great, I'm glad that the Visual Studio 2015 build of CCS64 V3.9.2 fixes the problem for you. The C64 "blue screen" takes a few seconds to initialise for me also, on Windows 7; so that's normal behaviour. Perhaps it is some weird difference due to the different compilers; perhaps the Visual Studio 2015 is more Windows 10 compatible than Visual Studio 2013, although according to Microsoft, EXEs produced by both compilers are meant to be compatible with Windows 10. I will wait for Michael Plate to respond as well, before reporting back to Hakan...

Author:  renepela [ Mon Mar 07, 2016 3:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

There might be another reason it's working now.
I use Windows 10 release 1511 now. That's a different Windows 10 version than I used when I had the problems.
So it could be fixed because of Visual Studio 2015, but the 1511 build of Windows 10 can also be the solution.

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Mon Mar 07, 2016 7:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Issues with CCS64 v3.9.2

You can verify this for yourself, by re-testing with the original EXE, and seeing whether the problem still occurs. However, it wouldn't surprise me if it was a bug with DirectX 12/Windows 10...

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 2 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/