CCS64 Forum

A forum to discuss issues about CCS64!
It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:48 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:21 pm
Posts: 1
Hi,

I've been using a DC2N device to dump tapes, with the plan to help dump tapes for the Tape Preservation group. I've been testing games as I go along and have noticed a couple don't seem to load. I've been testing and comparing against other emulators. The first I'm going to highlight is Bombuzal. The loader shows a scrolling list of details part way through the loading. In CCS64, it shows the colour bars, but doesn't show the text. It just stops. As I state, Vice loads successfully. I've attached the tape here for you. Not sure if you'd be interested in these reports or not.

FYI, the tape is only 97% recognised in TapClean and doesn't clean up any further. However, this wouldn't explain why it works in Vice and freezes in CCS64.

Thanks and kind regards

Sp33dy


Attachments:
Bombuzal.zip [226.15 KiB]
Downloaded 252 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 2:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 2:26 pm
Posts: 4
The TAP is working 100%. The problem here is a little bug in the IRQ-Emulation!

I've experienced this on several other occations as well. It seems like under certain circumstances, the IRQ just starts over again and again.

Technically speaking, the IRQ always ends with a RTI. When this command is executed, the CPU simply finishes the interrupt and returns to the program code that was running. However, due to a malfunction in CCS64's emulation, the interrupt triggers immediately, and the CPU starts to execute the interrupt code instead of the normal code which should be run inbetween. The result is that CCS64 executes only the IRQ-code, and not the rest.

It seems like there are certain conditions that leads up to this kind of lock-up, but I haven't found out what exactly happens before this sets in. It looks to me like CCS64 forgets to clear a flag somewhere, or mis-interprets some IO-registers (and that's strange indeed, since the emulation otherwise is great), believing that the IRQ is due to start immediately after it ends.

Regards,
Inge

_________________
Cheers,
Inge HP

The High Voltage SID Collection
http://www.hvsc.de


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:27 am 
Offline
Site Co-Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:46 pm
Posts: 757
Location: East Yorkshire, England
This problem should be fixed in CCS64 V3.9, which has been released recently. Plesae re-download and try again.

_________________
Kind regards,

Stuart Toomer.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group