CCS64 Forum
http://www.ccs64.com/forum/

Use of different ROM sets?
http://www.ccs64.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=32310
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Michael Plate [ Tue May 07, 2013 11:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Use of different ROM sets?

After starting CCS64 and pressing ALT+O there is an option listed for "Rom Set".
Is this option intended to toggle between the included ROMs and an alternative set?
If so, how can this function be utilized/activated?

Thanks in advance for any hint,
Michael

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Sat May 11, 2013 2:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Use of different ROM sets?

You have to obtain alternative ROM image files, then over-write the appropriate BASIC.ROM / C1541.ROM / CHAR.ROM / KERNAL.ROM files, in your CCS64 installation directory, with the appropriate 'updated' versions. Not a straight-forward job, I'm afraid, and it is somewhat difficult to find ROM image files nowadays, for legal reasons.

Happy hunting! One web-site to check is: http://www.elysium.filety.pl/

Author:  Michael Plate [ Sat May 11, 2013 5:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Use of different ROM sets?

The "replace files" method is what I'm using today but it really is not straight forward and simple as in VICE where you can specify the ROMs with a command line paramter.
Could that be a feature for the next CCS64 version as well? :wink:

Still I wonder what the "Rom Set" option in CCS64 is about - how can that be used and for which purpose?

/Michael

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Sat May 11, 2013 6:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Use of different ROM sets?

Perhaps Hakan meant to make it in to a changeable option, but never got round to implementing it that way, so it's just a fixed option (!)... Oh well, you've can't have everything, can you?! :lol: This could be a possible enhancement.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 2 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/