CCS64 Forum

A forum to discuss issues about CCS64!
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:27 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Save on hard drive
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 11:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 10:57 am
Posts: 2
How do I save on hard drive? Say i type in a program...how do I save it to my hard drive?
Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Save on hard drive
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 9:35 pm 
Offline
Site Co-Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:46 pm
Posts: 786
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Use the menu system in CCS64 to Create New D64 file (disk image file), ensure that the new file created is Selected, then save your typed-in program to disk, using the normal SAVE"NAME",8,1 command from BASIC. You get in to the menu system by pressing the <F9> key, then investigate the 1541 Device 8 options from there. Have a play around, then respond back if you're still stuck...

_________________
Kind regards,

Stuart Toomer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Save on hard drive
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 2:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 24, 2013 10:57 am
Posts: 2
I went into State and into freeze files. I havent got into the create .d64 file yet. Since I dont have a floppy drive right now...I am working on my computer. I do miss my 64 alot. I am now typing in programs and games I wrote back in the 80's I found a few nights ago.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Save on hard drive
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 1:35 pm 
Offline
Site Co-Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:46 pm
Posts: 786
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Creating a new blank disk has got nothing to do with States, nor do you need an actual floppy disk drive. Nowadays, it is all done with 'image files'. For a disk image file, these are D64 files, which are stored on your computer's hard drive - you go <F9>, 1541 Device 8..., use the arrow keys to navigate to the folder where you wish to store your D64 file, go within that folder, then high-light the "(Dir) ." option, then press <F1> to Create New D64 (options at bottom of display), then name it, and CCS64 will create a "blank" D64 file there, which acts as like a floppy disk. Remember, we are dealing with *emulation* here, not the real thing 'per se'. Ensure that you use the Select Disk option on the D64 file, in order to 'select' that D64 file as being the one inserted in to the emulated floppy drive - when you have done this, you can then use normal C64 BASIC commands to LOAD/SAVE etc. You might want to ensure that the separate 1541 Saving option is set to 'Continuously'.

_________________
Kind regards,

Stuart Toomer.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group