CCS64 Forum
http://www.ccs64.com/forum/

How to make a backup disk (file)?
http://www.ccs64.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=190
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Jasonguru [ Tue Jun 01, 2004 1:17 pm ]
Post subject:  How to make a backup disk (file)?

i have successfully started playing Might and Magic II (even though 1 still wont work), and to save your game youi need to make a backup of disk b so you can save your characters. i was just wanting to know how to do this?

thanks

Jason

Author:  Rebell [ Wed Jun 02, 2004 1:06 pm ]
Post subject: 

...just copy with your windows explorer this disk to an other folder (or filename) :wink:

Author:  Jasonguru [ Mon Jun 14, 2004 12:41 pm ]
Post subject: 

this doesnt work.

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Mon Jun 14, 2004 2:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

When browsing for files in 1541 Device 8, select the "." entry, then press F1 for Create New D64. Now type in the full file name and press the <ENTER> key. The blank disk file will be created.

Ensure that you are using the most up-to-date CCS64 V3.0 BETA, since this feature has been recently fixed.

Author:  Jasonguru [ Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:02 am ]
Post subject: 

i downloaded version 3.0 a few weeks ago. can you please give me a link to the version that fixes this issue and i will re-download the file and hopefully that will fix.

the entry that you refer to is dir . at the bottom of the menu? is that also correct, as that is the one ive been going to to try and create a new d64.

thanks again

Jason

Author:  Jasonguru [ Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:08 am ]
Post subject: 

the version i have is v3.0 Beta 1.3

Author:  Jasonguru [ Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:52 am ]
Post subject: 

no need for link figured it out myself. got the update and copies now work. its a shame tho that i went through the whole backup disk process and the game doesnt recognise the backup disk file created. it keeps asking for diskb and disk b is the backup you make for Might and Magic games.

I spent hours and made dozens of backups with all different name and all ending with .d64 and it made no difference. it must be the game itself. if anyone out there who plays Might and Magic I or II and have a way that they use to save games, please let me know. It's the only way to play this game as it is a very long game and cannot be completed in 1 day. You cannot play without being able to save.

Thanks to everyone for their help with all my questions but am very disappointed and will probably get rid of the emulator as these were the only 2 games i wanted to play.

Jason

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:42 am ]
Post subject: 

This is most probably not the fault of CCS64. VICE might probably behave the same way. The game will be requiring a specially-patched D64 file, as some adventure games do. So this probably is not an emulator bug.

Author:  ColonialViper [ Sat Feb 12, 2005 4:22 pm ]
Post subject: 

Will this be a problem with Pool of Radiance as well????

Author:  Stuart Toomer [ Sat Feb 12, 2005 10:12 pm ]
Post subject: 

A lot of the RPGs require special save-disks, but you cannot tell until you try...

Author:  zaphod [ Tue Mar 15, 2005 3:38 am ]
Post subject: 

try using a .g64 instead of a .d64 fo rthe save disk. this will store the sector IDs properly.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 2 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/