CCS64 Forum

A forum to discuss issues about CCS64!
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:25 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Why directx 9?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 1:52 pm
Posts: 7
Why is directx 9 required for ccs64 v1.3? This is an emulator of a 1983 computer system and not for a 3d capable machine. The reason because i uninstalled directx 9 and reinstalled directx 8.1 is that dx9 is 1-2 fps slower in all games and that some of my old games don't work with dx9. DX9 is so buggy, also 3dmark2001se wich is a dx8.1 bechmark had to be patched to be compatible with dx9. Of course games from before 2000 are not updated to dx9 anymore. :-(

Bye,
AC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2004 2:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 1:52 pm
Posts: 7
By the way,
who uses

"Supported operating systems:
* Windows 98/ME/2000/XP with DirectX v9.0 or later"

on a

"Hardware requirements:
* Pentium processor or better.
* 16 Mb of internal memory.
* SVGA graphics."
?,
AC

P.S.
Quotes from ccs64.html.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:33 pm 
Offline
Site Co-Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:46 pm
Posts: 786
Location: East Yorkshire, England
You are quoting the minimum requirements. All software documentation should specify minimum requirements in order to run it. So long as you are using the minimum or higher, then you are OK.

CCS64 V3.0 BETA is developed specifically in DirectX 9, due to some advanced graphical features (e.g. window re-sizing, selectable graphics re-fresh rates) that are only supported natively in DirectX 9.

_________________
Kind regards,

Stuart Toomer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 1:52 pm
Posts: 7
Thank you very much for answering Stu,
the new features sound great. Especially the setting of the refreshrates. Altough i'm a C64 maniac who still has 2 real 64'er and build a X1541-cable by myself for transfering all my disks i won't exchange one single emulator for all the games that won't work and the general speed decrease caused by dx9. So in the end i keep using beta 2. By the way the dos version of beta 2 has a great looking modex resolution that neither the windows version nor the dos-version (if run in the dos-box) have.

Bye,
AC


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group