CCS64 Forum

A forum to discuss issues about CCS64!
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:15 pm

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sound issues on Win7 x64
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:55 am
Posts: 1
Hi,

just upgraded two of my machines to Windows 7 x64 and now I have sound issues while running CC64 3.8 (choppy sound). I have tried to change the Output device but the problem persists.

Any ideas?
Christoph


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:18 pm
Posts: 2
I just registered my copy, great to see that some folks are still interested in the C64 - I had the same issue with Win7x64 and V3.8 - The sound being choppy - I have tried all the settings I could think of. I have gone back to V3.5 and it works. I like V3.8 over V3.5 because it has a graphics option for 1920 x 1080 where the full screen has crisp edges and the actual size of the usable C64 screen is as large as reasonably possible. Great when hooking it up to a big TV and viewing from far away. CCS64 is an awesome emulator, the interface for browsing through disk images is so easy. It can quickly go to invidual files on the "disc" without going into emulation and typing - Load "$", 8.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 10:57 pm 
Offline
Site Co-Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 2:46 pm
Posts: 786
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Have you tried possibly reducing the graphical settings within CCS64? Or trying using 8/16-bit sound, instead of 32-bit sound within CCS64? Possibly the hardware in your Windows 7 machine is not powerful enough for your current CCS64 settings. Remember, Windows 7 is quite an intensive opearting system, contrary to the hype - I personally recommend at least 4 GB RAM, 512 MB SDRAM, and an Intel Core i5 2 GHz CPU (or non-Intel equivalent), for intensive applications... This is only my opinion - other people may have other suggestions...

_________________
Kind regards,

Stuart Toomer.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 6:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:18 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for the suggestions. I have a Acer Aspire 8943G i7 1.6GHz with 8GB ram with Win7x64. I did try going to 8/16 bit sound but got the same results. I will keep working with Win7 / CCS64 settings to see if I solve it. If I have any luck I will repost!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 1:38 pm
Posts: 3
What is the sampling setting for your sound? Try turning it down and test each setting until it improves. Some sound chips really don't measure up to what Win7 wants to do with them. Even my Turtle Beach card has a hard time with Win7 settings. Mine runs fine at the 44Khz setting, no oversampling.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group